Lyla Medeiros' Fellowship

This year the SAA conference was held in New Orleans. I’ve never been to NOLA before so in addition to being excited for the conference I was also excited to experience the city.

I had a packed schedule at the conference, I went to talks about archiving route 66, the state of hip-hop dance archiving and got an inside look at the new systems being developed for the performing arts. In addition to all that, we managed to squeeze in a very productive and positive meeting about the DHC DPDP project. In addition to myself and Jennifer Kishi (who is working on the user interface design) three other DHC staff members and representatives from UCLA and NYPL attended to give their input.

All in all I would say that SAA was a success for me. I made some great connections to follow up on for my DPDP research for a new performing arts ontology and made some new professional connections. I also managed to score an awesome archival box with a clear top at in the exhibit hall.

I’m definitely going to go back to NOLA. The beauty of the French Quarter was mesmerizing. I had some great eats listened to some fantastic street musicians and stumbled into a movie shoot. A haunted history tour with Elizabeth Hollenbeck and the SAA grand reception at the WWII museum rounded out my week and made for a fantastic overall experience.

DHC Fellows at SAA 2013

DHC Fellows at SAA 2013

Now off to Portland for research!

~ Lyla

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

